Event Date: May 19, 2022

The Mission Inn Foundation (MIF) is proud to honor Dell Roberts as the recipient of the 2022 Frank Miller Civic Achievement Award. The award ceremony and celebratory dinner will take place on Thursday, May 19th, 2022 at the Mission Inn Hotel & Spa. The event begins at 6:00 p.m. Seating is extremely limited, so please reserve your space early.

This event will follow all state and local guidelines regarding safety and health during the COVID pandemic. 

The Frank Miller Civic Achievement Award was established in 1997 to honor individuals, couples or groups who have made significant contributions to the city and community of Riverside. Frank Augustus Miller’s tradition of civic leadership and devotion to this community carries on in the efforts of many leaders and innovators working to promote and enhance the city of Riverside today. It is with Miller’s devotion to community in mind, that the Mission Inn Foundation presents the Frank Miller Civic Achievement Award to Dell Roberts. 

Dell has been a fixture in Riverside as a leading youth advocate for many decades.  After first serving as campus supervisor, Dell was promoted to Special Assistant to the principal in charge of discipline at Poly High School where he founded the Black Student Union and Multi-Cultural Council.  By 1989 he was promoted to the District Office to oversee discipline and security district-wide with 56 campus supervisors under his direction.  As he said, he made a point of hiring people who love kids.  “In Riverside, I think all kids are ‘mine.’”  Since his retirement from RUSD in 2003, Dell has continued his youth advocacy and, along with his wife Carmen, established a foundation—the Adrian Dell and Carmen Roberts Foundation—which focuses on developing events and activities that promote positive family and cultural interaction for the community of Riverside as a whole, including the Riverside Black History Parade and Empowering Young Women’s Conference. 

The Foundation continues to support this vision of a robust Riverside community through its active history and educational programs.  Through guided experiences within the Mission Inn, MIF docents impart historical context on how the histories and development of both the Inn and Riverside are deeply intertwined.  Youth Ambassadors, a Hands of History program, equips Riverside youth with public speaking and leadership skills, encouraging a new generation to volunteer and build their community.   The efforts of the Mission Inn Foundation to preserve, share and continue the legacy of the Mission Inn are supported through contributions and fundraising efforts like the Frank Miller Civic Achievement Award.

Past honorees include Knox Mellon, Tim Hays, Judge Victor Miceli, Peggy Fouke Wortz, Justice John Gabbert, Duane R. Roberts, Art Littleworth, Henry Coil, Jr., S. Sue Johnson, Gary Rawlings, Chuck Beaty, Ron & Marsha Loveridge, Judge Charles Field, Cindy Roth, Joe Tavaglione, Jack B. Clarke, Jr., Gordon Bourns, Ofelia Valdez-Yeager and Brian Jaramillo.